top of page

Change Isn't Easy


Change is hard. It doesn't matter whether it's change you desperately want or one you are dreading. It's still harder than just staying the same.

Not that we ever do. We all change, life changes, whether we want it to or not. We do have control over what kind of change we bring in the world around us.

For years I have read the papers, seen the news reports, watched documentaries and read books on social issues and injustices.

I wrote letters for Amnesty International and send my paper route money to Ethiopia in my early teens.

I talk about the issues I read, I write about them from my arm chair and claim to have an opinion on how horrible it is that we let it happen, that no one does anything to help.

As someone who lives below the poverty line I don't have a lot of clout or resources to be able to affect big change.

I can't build a school for a First Nation Community in Northern Ontario or fund equipment and man power for missing person searches. I have no money to feed starving families, I can barely feed my own to be honest with you.

But I've used that as an excuse for long enough. Just because I don't have money or resources doesn't mean I can't be the change I want to see in the world.

I just had to get more creative, make more of a sacrifice perhaps to find a way to make a difference.

I thought about what talents I get complimented on or seem to make others happy? My writing seems to be popular with friends, family, bosses, etc.

My photography, artwork and videos all seem to bring happiness to others. I can only offer what I have.

I want to use my talents to make a difference in the world and to share the stories of others.

I have 20 days til I'm homeless. I know it's for a good reason, and the only way that I can use my talents to share the stories across Canada that need to be told.

That doesn't mean it's not scary. I am excited. I know with my entire soul that I'm doing the right thing. But wow. Change is scary.

I can see this journey I started for others is already changing me.

I'm reflecting on my life and the purpose of it as I prepare to embark on a journey to honour and celebrate the lives of others.

Maybe it's good to be scared about doing this right.

bottom of page